An Introduction to Introverts

People always want to be classified as an extrovert. Extroverts are fun! They’re outgoing! They’re social butterflies!  They gain energy from being with other people and the external environment.

Me? I gain energy from being alone.

Yes, I’m an introvert. Now let me stop you before you think I’m shy or quiet or something stereotypical of the sort, because that’s far from the truth. Introversion doesn’t necessarily equal quietness or shyness or a lack of confidence. Sure, when I was kid, I was all that and more when I was around new people. But today, if you put me in a room full of strangers, I won’t be part of the wallpaper. I will come up and talk to you. And while I’m at it, I’ll be enthusiastic and energetic and could pass off as any typical extrovert. The difference though, is that I’d prefer not to do those things. I prefer being by myself.

That’s not to say I don’t enjoy hanging out in a group setting but if I had to choose, I’d rather have deep discussions with close friends, than socialize in a large crowd and engage in idle chit chat. I’ll do it but I find it tedious. I’ll look forward to going home where I know I will be alone and can be in my own head ‘coz whose thoughts would I like better than my own? (Also, I have some pretty hilarious conversations with myself but that’s not really relevant.)

The point I’m trying to make here is that there is nothing wrong with this kind of behavior. For some reason, everyone is force-fed this notion that in order for you to be considered normal, you need to get out there and be sociable. In order to be likable  you need to be the life of the party, and enjoy being in the spotlight. All I’m trying to say is that this is not necessarily so. Introverts are pretty awesome in and of themselves, just as much as extroverts are so let’s stop the debate on which personality trait is better and leave it to what it essentially is: preference.

This short video outlines the defining characteristics of Introverts and Extroverts. I’m not a perfect introvert and neither am I a perfect extrovert. But if there were a scale, my personality would range closer towards introversion than extroversion for sure.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “An Introduction to Introverts

  1. Introvert and proud 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

