Game Review: Mass Effect 2

Before I get into what I thought of the game, let me just say this; I LOVE YOU GARRUS!! OK, now that that’s off my chest, I thought Mass Effect 2 was epic. Now I hate that word because it is so overused, but this game, this series is, truly epic. It goes so far beyond other fictional universes in so many amazing ways. If you’re a science fiction lover like me, BUY this game NOW.

I’ve already played Mass Effect 3 (read review here), which was pretty good too but I wasn’t happy with the ending(s) at all. Nonetheless, it’s still a great series. In game 2, you’re Commander Shepherd (option of femshep, yay!) who is an elite human soldier who must recruit and gain the loyalty of a diverse team in order to defeat an insect-like species called the Collectors in a suicide mission. The game is long because there’s many missions to be done before you embark on the suicide mission (I like that though; I always feel sad when I finish a game too fast) and it’s during these side missions when you realize the mind-blowing cosmic scope and size of this game. It’s not just the outstanding action, the compelling story, the huge depth of interaction, or any of the other ways in which the game demonstrates its outrageous surfeit of quality, that makes the game so awesome. It’s the fact that this game is so coherent that you could actually live in it. Which is a good thing, because you’ll almost certainly end up doing so.

Also, I completely agree with this guy on why the game is incredibly eye-opening in many ways.

Rating – 5/5

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

