Onam Celebrations

I wasn't expecting the banana leaves.

I mean, where in New Brunswick (or rather Nova Scotia), would one find banana leaves. Real-life, fresh, lusciouslly green banana leaves?
Well, apparently they reside in a freezer in Halifax, flown in specially for the occassion of Onam. I was expecting to eat my Onam meal on a plate but amazingly, we were able to eat it on the traditional leaf.

Here's my beautiful mother wearing the traditional Onam Kasavu sari and drying off the leaves:

The happy couple:

Shona and I:

Onasadya:

Pookalam:

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

