Night Terror

I have an unhealthy obsession for watching horror movies. I’m perfectly fine while watching it – I’m usually the person chortling and stuffing my face with popcorn, laughing off the scary scenes. The problem surfaces after I watch a particularly good scary movie because for some bizzare reason, I then remember Every Scary Movie Ever. Once the remains of that scary movie settles in my mind, I have a very hard time falling asleep.

And it is for this reason that I have my trusty touch lamp.

I have a confession to make. My touch lamp is connected for no other purpose (besides reading in bed) than to serve as an instant illuminator for when my vivid imagination throws a cannon ball of terror my way. No more reaching around in the darkness to flick on the switch! No more twisting on the knob of a regular lamp! With my touch lamp, it’s just one tap and voilà!

But my touch lamp turned on me last night. Literally.

Since I hadn’t watched any scary movie of late, my ability to form fear-inducing mental images was subdued and snoring peacefully. I had my lamp turned off and the only light in the room came from my laptop screen. After a few hours of internet activity, I decided to tuck myself in and get a good nights’ sleep.

After 10 minutes of complete darkness and silence, my touch lamp turns on.

By itself.

This was me:

Now my amygdala is pounding wildly and little orc’s with their beating drums are starting to hack into my fear-inducing mental imagery, which has now woken up in a rage from its long slumber.

If you’re thinking that I may have touched the lamp by accident, I can assure you I did not. The lamp is raised on my dresser and I was sleeping in the middle of my double bed, with my arms under the covers. I looked around to see if something may have tapped it accidentally, and there was nothing in sight.

My conclusion? It was a bug.

That had to be it. A flying bug decided to land on it and somehow turned it on with its weight.

With that being said, there are times when I need to rap hard on the lamp several times before it turns on, but in my feeble state of mind, this rationalization was the only way I could convince myself to fall back asleep.

Suffice it to say I slept with my lamp turned on at the maximum level and every now and then I’d throw it a suspicious look while I tossed and turned all night and dreamt of giant bugs that resembled the kind in King Kong.

I’m not looking forward to sleeping tonight. And now I also have a potential bug in my room to keep my imagination company. Yay.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Night Terror

  1. Anonymous

    This can only be commented on with accompanying gifs:
    At first I was like:

    and THEN I was like:

    – Manolia

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

