Why I’m Pro-choice

  1. I’m pro-choice because I believe it is every woman’s human right to determine the number and spacing of her children.
  2. I’m pro-choice because as long as there are unwanted pregnancies, there will be abortions. And there will always be unwanted pregnancies, both inside and outside of marriage.
  3. I’m pro-choice because I don’t think that deciding to terminate an unwanted pregnancy should have to mean risking one’s health and life.
  4. I’m pro-choice because I don’t believe that a woman should be forced to carry a pregnancy to term at the expense of her body, health, mental health, or life.
  5. I’m pro-choice because I believe that children should be wanted.
  6. I’m pro-choice because I don’t think a child should be a "punishment" or "consequence" of sex.
  7. I’m pro-choice because reproductive freedom is about so much more than abortion. It’s about comprehensive and medically accurate sex education, affordable and accessible contraception, and affordable and accessible pre-natal and well-baby care. It’s about the full range of reproductive health services. For everyone.
  8. I’m pro-choice because criminalizing abortion does not lead to a lower abortion rate; it only leads to more dangerous abortions:
  9. I’m pro-choice because when performed by a trained professional in a hygienic setting, the death rate associated with abortion is less that 0.6 per 100,000  procedures (less than one-tenth as large as the death rate associated with childbirth).
  10. I’m pro-choice because I don’t think that deciding to terminate an unwanted pregnancy should have to mean risking one’s health and life.
  11. I’m pro-choice because I think it is cruel to have to end a pregnancy by the methods above.
  12.   I’m pro-choice because I value womens’ lives, mens’ lives, and childrens’ lives.
  13.   I’m pro-choice because pro-choice policies lead to healthy women, healthy children, and healthy families.
  14. I’m pro-choice because I trust, respect, and value women.

Abortion is not the same as murder. If murder were unregulated, civil society could not exist. Abortion does not disrupt civil society in the same way as murder. To believe that abortion must be regulated relies on a belief that a fetus is a person with all the rights and responsibilities of someone born. To grant a fetus that cannot exist outside the womb greater rights than the woman carrying the fetus is, in my estimation, fundamentally incompatible with the function of civil society. Please bear in mine that laws don’t exist to enforce morality and certainly not religious morality.

As for the argument that people should not be forced to be governed by laws which are in opposition to their moral and/or religious beliefs I would point out that we are all governed by some laws which do not comport with our personal moral beliefs. I’m morally opposed to war and yet I voluntarily participate in a system of government to which I give my authority to decide to wage war and to which I pay taxes which support the waging of those wars. However, I also recognize that all societies, however small, develop methods to protect themselves from attack and I understand that there is common agreement therefore that a military should necessarily exist. 

Society cannot function if everyone is allowed to opt out of living under common laws based on individual beliefs. Abortion is a moral issue.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

